Reaching for the Unfathomable: A Reflection on Peace

Tina-Marie Axenty, Dec 10, 2023, 3:43 AM
Untitled design-6.png

And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. But the angel said to them, "Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. Today in the town of David a Saviour has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger."

Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,

"Glory to God in the highest heaven,

and on earth peace to those on whom his favour rests."

(Luke 2:8–14)

I want to begin this reflection with a moment of honesty: I'm not a theologian. I'm a writer. I'm trained to hear the musicality in language, to understand the meaning of words and the depths of the feelings they invoke. And in this season, I'm finding the word "peace" hard to grasp. Every time I reach for it, my brain cries "justice!" instead. Or sometimes simply "help!" I have a rough idea of my need for stillness and renewal, but the concept of peace feels far away.

Maybe it feels that way for you, too.

Looking into the dictionary definitions of peace doesn't necessarily help, either. Merriam-Webster calls peace "a state of tranquility or quiet." Peace can mean freedom from civil disturbance and harmony in personal relations. It can denote a release from disquieting thoughts or emotions. It can be a pact or agreement to end hostilities between those who have been at war. When I look at my life and I look at the world, I see us absolutely starved for peace. If it's such an unachievable thing, why even talk about it?

So I do what I know to do when I feel lost. I return to story.